Toastmasters- A Bridesmaid’s Appreciation Note

The Back Story

My sister got married on February 1st 2020.  Congratulations to her! She killed it as a pretty bride/wedding planner/awesome human.

The pew in the church was lined with silver and blue ribbon, a cut out of a bride and groom to direct seating arrangement. The choir on one side of the altar, singing hymns of praise, the Priest gave a beautiful homily about family and love all while the couple smiled at each other because everything else was out of focus.

WhatsApp Image 2020-02-18 at 22.32.46

As her sister and bridesmaid, I was tasked with the duty of raising the toast. It was a privilege. I didn’t think I deserved it. I’ve always fought with my sister and probably drove her straight out of our home-town. When re-writing my speech the night before the wedding, my brother said, “Maybe the meaning of  good memories for you differs from hers.”

That gave me the courage to pen down my speech, loud, clear and in all honesty. My cousins (ugh, hate this word- when cousins are as good as your very own, don’t you just hate distinguishing them as such?) were nothing but pillars of support. They soaked in my tears, heard me rehearse and get the punch lines right.

“Maybe the meaning of good memories for you differs from hers”

Back to when I knew I would be speaking my sister’s special day – I had to get it right. So, I joined Toastmasters. Also because I was genuinely interested since my time in college to be a member.

What is Toastmasters?

For those who don’t know, Toastmasters International is an organization to help people become exceptional speakers and leaders. The website explains everything in detail. I suggest you find a local club or one in your place of work. it is truly rewarding to be in such a club.

I look forward to meeting new people, hearing speeches from the club members and absolutely enjoy hosting the impromptu bit.

Generally, a meeting has two major parts as per my understanding -Prepared speeches and table topics.

Prepared speeches are when members volunteer to speak, prepare their speech according to a pathway they have selected (applicable to members only) and are evaluated by the member who has taken up that role for the club meeting.

Table topics can be conducted in various ways. The club I am a part of usually makes chits and people are either requested to come up to the front or volunteer to do so, pick a chit and talk on/about it for a maximum of two minutes. (Table Topics session are always so unique!)

(Disclaimer: If I have got any of this wrong, I am fairly new and learning)

What you should know :

  • Yes, there is a membership fee
  • Yes, it is recognized globally
  • No, people are not snooty
  • Yes, your speaking skills can improve
  • No, not only speaking skills and leadership skills
  • Yes, presentation skills can improve too
  • Yes, you get the chance to meet new people
  • Yes, you can locate clubs and attend their meetings
  • Yes, every member can volunteer to take up a role during club meetings

The Benefit I found

I am glad I joined Toastmasters. Not only have my speaking skills improved, but I am also becoming confident with every meeting I attend.

Cheers!

xoxo

*Unfortunately, due to my free plan, I cannot post the video here.*
**Photos are subject to copyright**

 

 

One thought on “Toastmasters- A Bridesmaid’s Appreciation Note

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑