Job done – that’s enough!

Image result for congratulations images tv
Source

It’s been 7 months since I started my first in-office job. The company is great, the people are really kind and my boss rocks! I wish everyone had a boss like mine. She’s really chill but also gets work done.

Jumping right in, there is a thing they do at my workplace where employees are appreciated and handed a “Job Well Done” certificate when they excel expectations and really go above and beyond in terms of performance.

  1. Analyzing or over-analyzing my hard work, I decided I was worthy of the above-mentioned acknowledgment, but nobody saw it. After the last three meetings or so, I started deflating whenever they would move past this bit and onto the next because that meant I still didn’t get appreciated in front of a crowd.

What I realized this morning, changed the way I felt and thought. While appreciation, applause, and photos are good, knowing that people can count on you is better. My colleagues know they can call out to me and I’ll get the work done, few questions asked.

Today, an Officer (yup, it’s a corporate setting) signaled me to his desk and then and there asked me to write a piece of content. He knew he could count on me to at least try my best-it’s a pretty big deal. Not trusting me. I meant the piece of content he was asking for!

So, to sum up, I`m listing down other forms of appreciation and recognition of your talent you must remember. Stick it on your door, cupboard, work station or favorite notebook! But remember it or even better add it to the comments section!

  1.  You’ve been trusted with a job – no questions asked. (Except for your consent. That definitely counts)
  2. You are the first point of contact when something in your line is needed. (it could be art, content, e-mail, process-related, blueprint, anything!)
  3. You feel satisfied when submitting the work asked of you (automatically means you are happy with what you have done. No reward can match happiness)

 

Happy reading folks! 

 

xoxo

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑