Bye Bucketlist, Hello Living!

Do you know what’s going to happen as soon as these dark days pass and our prayers are answered?

People are going to burn their bucket lists.

‘Live like there’ is no tomorrow will most certainly be the attitude of many. The reason being? Quarantine. Staying indoors for almost over a month can be really troublesome to people who love going out and exploring a part of the city, if not all of it. 

I was talking to my sister over the phone the other day, and we were reminiscing about how we took a different road to avoid being tempted to enter Social or eat at this quaint patisserie. How I always wanted to go play laser tag and paintball but never did. Procrastination wasn’t an excuse, it was a valid reason. Either I had to save money or wait for an occasion to celebrate. I celebrate every little good thing that happens, but I was willing to wait for it to happen first.

I have been crying about going to Jaipur for such a long time, that the RJ on Radio One asked me if I ever made it? It was a wake-up call about how I cry about things but never actually get it done. Easily distracted, that’s my identity folks!

These things that I want to do and will someday do only means that I have a list in my head, waiting to tick them off one after another. When I say the bucket lists are going to fly out the window or be flushed down the toilet, I don’t encourage you to splurge hard-earned money that you can save.  If you go to a concert and book VIP tickets inspired by what I’m talking about here and then you don’t have rent money, that’s on you.

More than speaking to you, I think I`m successfully convincing myself to start spending on what I like and not only on others to make them happy, even though those smiles are contagious. It’s time to stop bookmarking restaurants and just go to eat!

Yes, the prices might hit the roof.  It’s no rocket science. So many industries especially travel, entertainment, local bookstores are suffering right now. If they charge two times more than they normally do, it’s because they have to make up for lost business. They have stomachs to feed too. People might be bothered by this but if the bucket list doesn’t exist anymore and Carpe Diem is the way of life not only an Instagram caption, then businesses honestly have nothing to worry about. It will be awfully sad though if they begin to take advantage of this attitude that people will exhibit.

With that being said, what are you going to do? Are you creating a list to burn or keep?

1moao4Source

 

 

XoXo

 

 

5 thoughts on “Bye Bucketlist, Hello Living!

Add yours

  1. I generally have a burn the bucket list attitude anyway (if I can afford it), but I think I’ll be staying put this year ….even if things get back to normal, I imagine there’ll be a lot of disruption, so many business’ and hotels shut down or not able to operate to the standard they were before, airlines and travel companies have let go of so many staff…I ‘d rather see how things pan out, and then wait until the following year… and there’ll probably more crowds than usual with people desperate for a holiday lol 😊we’ll see how it goes!

    Like

    1. Hi Cherryl! I agree. The fact that people will lose business is so sad. I wonder about the roller coaster of emotions people went through when they opened a new business just before the virus hit.
      Wait and see sounds like a good plan too! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑