#Labels – Slap ’em on!

1..
Source

On November 26th 2017 after  I had finished dinner and walked towards the double doors of the food court I turned to my left to see the result of what my seniors were working on for the past half an hour or so.

Very disappointed and a bit angry, I grumbled to my friend and walked outside for a breath of fresh air. I went back inside and asked another friend if he saw the wall. He said  he did and would contribute to it. I told him it wasn’t nice to do something this stupid. He agreed. But I don’t think anybody sees it the way I do.

I will talk about the wall after I tell how I feel about it. At the end of my rant, if you think I am taking this too seriously, I won’t bother because this is my opinion and whatever you say is yours.

The entire wall is covered with blank white sheets of paper with various headlines which are hashtags like

#backchod
#dramaqueen
#selfiequeen
#lovebirds
#selfobsessed
#gamer
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

I will take a picture tomorrow and attach it to the end of this article.

 

Now, hear why I totally disagree with this ice breaking idea :

Hashtags for people is not cool.
> Labels are not acceptable. It’s what people are afraid of the most. People who act like they don’t care get a title too. They get labels slapped on their forehead.
> Making it public where anyone can write a person’s name is worse.
> What is the point?
> Keep it all positive at the least. Self obsessed  is not a positive comment for anyone. I wouldn’t want my name to be on there even if I know that’s what people think and what I think of myself too.

 

You wanna know what else is wrong with this activity? We are promoting it by writing names on there for fun. Anyone read or watched thirteen reasons why? This is the small picture. This was the spark that burned down a person’s life. It all seems like nothing until the volcano erupts. A piece of wood burning slowly seems like nothing until the entire forest catches fire. A hashtag seems like nothing until it seeps into someone’s heart and mind permanently and nobody can click the undo button.

Say I am over thinking and being dramatic about this. But would you want to see your name under a demeaning hashtag? Something that you aren’t? No, I`m not afraid that somebody might write my name and give me a title I don’t deserve. It angers me that some one came up with this stupid, absurd idea and people went with it. The bloody management went with it. Why would you support something like this that you know might affect somebody negatively?

I know what you must be thinking. Why doesn’t she bring it up with the committee, the club who is doing this activity or her professors ? 

If they knew it would start a spark they wouldn’t have gone ahead with it. I have some bad blood, like a river flowing between one of the members of the club. I wouldn’t mind talking to him about this, but I pretty sure I am the last person he would want to speak with especially about one of his club’s projects.

I conclude with two observations :

  1.  It is not easy to be the spark. I am scared of being labelled  spoil sport and over dramatic even though I know I am right somewhere here. I still cannot help believing that people I talk to about my opinion will say it is “no big deal and that to ignore it.” “Don’t write a name if I`m so upset about it.” “Nobody will think so far”.

I wish they did. I wish people had enough sense to stop and think. 

 

2. No questions asked, people run forward to what seems new, attractive, different without considering consequences.  They don’t care about the forest fire. They don’t care if  A sees his/her name under a particular hashtag and feels hurt. Feels judged in public. If A starts wondering that’s true, begins to believe others are right. Begins to loose self confidence. Or worse, starts feeling a sense of pride that people think them worthy of a meaningless hashtag.

 

I wish A, B, C and every one  takes this with a pinch of salt. But is it to be taken with a pinch of salt? 

 

Labeling is wrong. Making someone see that the public supports the label slapped on them is cruel.

 

 

Song of the week :

Not as big a hit as Despacito, but not that bad either.

 

 

 

#Stay WordCrushed 

 

XoXO

 

 

2 thoughts on “#Labels – Slap ’em on!

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑